I started a music show on Twitch!

A Future-delic Show

Since the tender age of 11 years old, it’s been my dream to host my own radio show. Why? Because when I was alone in my room begrudgingly revising for exams or doing my homework, Scott Mills, Zane Lowe and Nick Grimshaw where my best friends. These were the BBC Radio 1 DJs during my teenage years that furthered my love for music discovery and the intimacy of radio.

Life’s took it’s unexpected twists, turns and loop-de-loops but the burning desire to make my own show never left. No matter what the world shows me; with it’s digital nomads and wildlife photographers and Panda Nannies (yes people are paid to baby sit Panda cubs), I still can’t think of anything better than sharing music and good conversation to brighten people’s days, evenings, journeys or shifts.

It’s all about chasing that feeling you get when a friend of yours is talking about their favourite band. They waffle on about how cool the artist is or sing a snippet of the songs and at the end of their monologue they say… “I think it was you who showed me them”.

So here I am, trying to focus my unending quest for new music into 2 hours of fun a week.

Art is not just a litmus test for the state of culture at the present time – it can also be a window into the future of our world. The style of sounds we hear today reveal glimpses of the sounds that will come tomorrow. It shows how we’ll be dancing, talking and enjoying nights out in years to come. So that’s why i’ve decided to call the show Futuredelic. Apart from my love of Funkadelic and mind-altering psychedelics, I recently learnt that the latin ‘delic’ means ‘reveal’. Therefore this show is really called The Future Revealed.

Episode 1

I was meant to call the show Rebel Radio and broadcast from a local station called Hale.Ldn based here in Tottenham, North London. However the station manager really wasn’t keen on the name Rebel Radio because it conflicted with an Extinction Rebellion podcast by the same name. I did some digging and found nothing on the government trademark website under the name Rebel Radio. So I told the station this and then began looking for a new name anyway.

After positive talks with the management for over a month I was only a day away from going live when I got an email that really blew my confidence into tiny pieces.

“Hi Elliott, after some consideration, we’ve decided this isn’t the right platform for you, best of luck, thanks”

I was stunned. I had just landed on the name Futuredelic and was ready to go live on my first solo show and i’d been dropped for no reason at all. I speculate the name debacle had something to do with it but what the heck, a rose by any other name…

I thought the relationship was to be a good one. I even agreed to write blog posts for the radio’s culture page and had already sent a finished version of the first one, a story about The Tate Modern’s two exhibitions shining a light on brilliant contemporary African art. So to drop me like that makes such little sense.

Nonetheless it’s spurred me to take matters into my own hands. Fuck relying on anyone else to facilitate my dreams when I already have everything I need to make it work.

Tracklist:

  1. Wax Machine – Bloom
  2. Al Tanner Quintet – Kuba!
  3. Naxatras – Radiant Stars
  4. The Family Dog – Easy
  5. Willie J Healey feat. Jamie T – Thank You
  6. Jalen Ngonda – Come Around and Love Me
  7. Goya Gumbani & dropppedmilk – TwentyThird
  8. summer pearl & Liam Bailey – waste ur time
  9. John Beltran – Ask Alari
  10. Tinariwen – Anemouhagh
  11. Rex Omar – Tokota
  12. Spirit of Sundaze Spirit Ensemble – Come Into My Life
  13. Incognito – One Step to Miracle
  14. Tony Benn – Hyde Park 2003
  15. Future Topia feat. Kae Tempest – We Were Still Are
  16. Spirit of Sundaze Ensemble – Come Into My Life
  17. J Caeser – Heaven Knows
  18. Kaidi Akinnibi – Devices
  19. IZCO, Reek0 – Blu Lightsaber
  20. Swindle – Miss Kane
  21. Wilfred – DAYS GRAFT
  22. Summer Pearl – what you want
  23. Erykah Badu – On & On (LAKIM Rework)
  24. Frank Ocean – Thinkin’ Bout You (KLM Edit)
  25. S!RENE – Yoruba Riddim
  26. Skepta – Bullet From a Gun (Seb C Edit)
  27. Goya Gumbanib – Cloth & Polish
  28. Osquello & IZCO – Did 2 Me
  29. Emerson – Sending All My Love Out (The Egyptian Lover Remix)
  30. Chaos In The CBD – Sirena Deep
  31. Jazzanova – Beyond The Dream
  32. The Vapor Caves – Sacrifice (E.Live Remix)
  33. Roisin Murphy – What Not To Do (Moodyman Remix)

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close